Training with Raven

black-cat-2

 

As an update to my weight loss journey: I lost half a pound! I know a lot of you out there may be struggling to lose weight too, so I thought I would tell you about my secret weight loss weapon. Ready?

I discovered something I call napercize. Basically, you take as many naps as you can. Forget everything you’ve heard about exercise helping you to lose weight. Baloney! If anything, you need to scale back. Since I’ve been on my diet, not only do I not exercise, but I cut down on all my activities and increased the number of daily naps.

However – and this is key – I vary my napping location. Sometimes I crash on the couch, others I stretch out on the computer keyboard or in front of the space heater. I suppose you burn some calories just sleeping in one spot. But it’s much more effective to do my Nap Circuit Training.

Don’t get the wrong idea. I’m not shirking my other bookstore responsibilities! I just find ways to multitask. For instance, one of the ladies in my knitting group brought in a wreath she had made to show the rest of us. I checked it for her to make sure it was cat proof (I bet she didn’t even think to do that! What if she wants to have her cat friends over for the holidays?) just like I’ve done with all the decorations in the store. When I was satisfied that it met my standards and sure that the instructor didn’t need my help, I napercized. But I was careful to position myself in the center of the activity so they could find me if they needed me. Cats are, after all, known for their creative problem-solving!

That is just one of the best parts of having a cat for a coworker. The other awesome part about cats in the workplace is that there is always someone who will give you a hug when you need it. You can’t even put a price on that…though I think I will ask for a raise.

Leave a Reply

